Home

Week 4.

Another Saturday that ended another week-long cycle and again found me with another unexposed roll of film. This particular Saturday, though, it was cold (read as really, really cold) as I set out in the wee hours of the morning with my Mamiya 645, a roll of Ilford HP5 Plus and a mug of coffee. I didn’t really have much of a plan, so I just headed towards downtown Cleveland to see what I could find.

Week4_04_IlfordHP5Plus400_Mamiya645

I’ve personally always enjoyed Cleveland and have spent a good deal of time exploring it. Weekend mornings are a particular favorite of mine as certain areas become a little more like a ghost town. In the snow, it was really quiet and peaceful as I wandered through some of the little back alleyways that connect the main thoroughfares.  This was my first time shooting Iford’s HP5 and I wasn’t sure how it would handle the suppressed light of such a grey morning.. especially once I got back into some of these darker spaces between buildings. Surprisingly though, the film came out beautifully and carried a lot of contrast and shadow detail. Moving forward I think it’s likely that you will see more of Ilford’s films.

Week4_03_IlfordHP5Plus400_Mamiya645

Week4_07_IlfordHP5Plus400_Mamiya645

5 thoughts on “Week #4: Tim

  1. I like the tones and contrast you got for these photos. I’m a big fan of the HP5+ film and it’s now become my main go to film for B&W. Developed in HC-110(b), it does well pushed up to 1600 as well!

Leave a Reply

